Referees missed a clear facemask by Paul Richardson on his amazing touchdown catch

Paul Richardson made a catch in the first half of the Seahawks’ Wild Card round game against the Lions that was one of the best we’ve ever seen.

The stakes were high too, with the Seahawks on the 1-yard line (yes) and looking to get on the board for the first time in the game. Russell Wilson floated one, and Richardson found a way to come down with it.

Pass interference was called on Lions safety Tavon Wilson, so the catch stood. But it definitely appears that Richardson had a good hold on Wilson’s facemask, which went uncalled.

On NBC’s broadcast, Michelle Tafoya says she talked to Jim Caldwell, who told her “[The officials] said they got it wrong.”

After the game, referee Brad Allen said that he was not aware of anybody telling Jim Caldwell that they were wrong, and said if somebody did, that it wasn’t him:

— Michael Rothstein (@mikerothstein) January 8, 2017

Had that been called, the penalties would have been offsetting, but instead the Seahawks were rewarded with a touchdown that’s going to be discussed for some time.

Source

http://www.sbnation.com/2017/1/7/14202476/seattle-seahawks-catch-facemask-detroit-lions-paul-richardson